I accidentally created a distribution instead of a module, can this be changed?

I simply was too fast when clicking through the UI to create a new project. I wanted to create a new module, but created a distribution instead.

Can this be changed?

https://www.drupal.org/project/user_online_status is supposed to be a module. I only realized it when reading the error message on the release page about the missing make file.

Or do I have to completely restart a new project under a new name then? Can alternatively this distribution project be deleted, so the machine name becomes available again?


Source: https://www.drupal.org/project/issues/rss/infrastructure